How do you handle the ups and downs of life? Here’s a simple way to find the true answer:

What are the last three things that caused you to feel stress, kept you up at night, or made you feel insecure or exposed to harm?

What are the last three things you did to get yourself back to a centered, peaceful, and grounded state?

Most people discover that their most recent three stressors far outweigh and outpace their last three self-care actions.

Once they realize how deeply they need restoration and renewal, their next quandary is figuring out how to do it.

Well, I’ve tried it all.

It began when my sense of belonging and security was shaken by the loss of a marriage, the death of my mother, and the impossibility of my imagined future.

Countless silent hours in nature, working with sages and wisdom keepers, intense study, meditation, energy healing, acupuncture, and emotional healing techniques ushered me through those intensely painful months.

Not everything helped me. My commitment is to pass what did work on to you.

Learning to connect to and balance my root chakra was life-changing. Healing this area creates space for new bonds, true belonging, and deep security.

Here’s a brief look at the root chakra followed by my three favorite affirmations for this center.

Bookmark this post. Return to it when you feel scattered or low energy.

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is the first energy center. It is located at the base of your spine, rooting down through the perineum.

This Chakra relates to survival and familial, cultural, genetic and patriotic connections.

Through the Root Chakra, you are connected to Mother Earth. When you spend time in nature, stand on the earth, consciously connect with the energy of the planet, or contemplate the truth that you belong in this world, you are strengthening the energy of this chakra.

When this Chakra is blocked, you may feel emotionally victimized, powerless, dependent or that your survival is threatened.

Physical manifestations of challenges in this area are conditions that affect the feet, knees, and hips, including arthritis, kidney stones, osteoporosis, bone problems, and autoimmune deficiency conditions (Wauters, Ambika).

Here’s an excerpt from one of my favorite Chakra books to help you heal and support your Root Chakra:


Each time we define ourselves by the self-limiting ideas that dictate where we can and cannot go, whom we can or cannot participate with, and what we are allowed to do and not do, we narrow our life choices. We define ourselves through race, religion, culture, age, gender, and sexual orientation. We heal our Root Chakra by making choices for ourselves based on the promise of growth and spiritual development.


Our Root Chakra, in order to be functional, must be rid of narrow beliefs. We heal the Root Chakra each time we affirm our right to the life we say we want. Knowing we have a right to joy, happiness, health, and a creative existence is fundamental to life. You need no one’s approval, nor do you need reasons to make the choices that promise you happiness, stability, and joy. Stepping away from the prescribed dictates of family, culture, or religion may be painful at first, but eventually, your roots become defined by the way you live, love, and communicate, and the choices you make for your life.”
—Wauters, Ambika The Complete Guide to Chakras

Here are 3 of my favorite Root Chakra connecting affirmations from Ambika (her book has several more):

• I know who I am and make choices based on what I know to be right for me.
• I affirm my right to the life I choose.
• I am supported in life through all my choices to do good and share the light of love.

Take a moment right now to rest your feet on the earth. Feel the life energy of the planet. Open yourself to receiving all of the strength, power, and stability you need. Go hug a tree. Seriously. Draw from its wisdom, endurance, and deeply rooted ability to reach into the earth for the power to stretch toward the heavens.

If you’re feeling that this Chakra needs attention, Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System, by Anodea Judith, will help.

The Chakra System

In case you don’t know much about Chakras, here’s an easy reference to help you get your bearings:

Chakras are centers in bodies through which energy flows.

1. Root Chakra – Base of spine

2. Sacral Chakra – Lower abdomen, two inches below the navel and two inches in.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Upper abdomen near the stomach.

4. Heart Chakra – Center of chest just above the heart.

5. Throat Chakra – Throat.

6. Brow Chakra – Forehead between the eyes (Third Eye).

7. Crown Chakra – Top of the head.

Big hugs to you. You belong. You deserve to create and live the life you want.

If you could share this post on Facebook, it would be a great help. Thank you so much.




free email series

Detox your mind of negative thoughts and beliefs.

Make space for your goals and heart's desires.

Free 5-Part Email Series

Thank you!

 In this FREE Meditation, I share my approach

and answer some common questions

about the practice.

Thank you!



Need an answer? Connect with your intuition by listening to the Embrace Your Inner Goddess Guided Visualization (Hay House) (24:29). 

Thank you!


 Five keys to mastering yourself

and freeing your inner wise woman

in this FREE email series.

Thank you!

Find Calm in Chaos

Discover the secret to inner calm with my 8-minute audio tool to help you get centered. Embrace a new sense of balance and clarity, no matter what challenges life throws your way.

Then, learn to let go BEFORE chaos takes over. Free to your inbox!

Thank you!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This