The past months have been a time of healing and balancing this foundation in my life. Whenever a change to our family, environment, home, or sense of community occurs past wounds often surface to be healed.

Countless silent hours in nature, work with sage wisdom keepers, intense study, meditation, energy healing, acupuncture, and emotional nakedness have ushered me through an intensely painful and profoundly positive life healing.

My commitment, as always, is to pass the wonder and goodness on to you.

If you’re not familiar with or comfortable with the idea of the root chakra, replace the concept with the ideas of belonging, feeling secure, and stability. Don’t let the form rob you of the tremendous value in these teachings.

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is the first energy center. It is located at the base of your spine, rooting down through the perineum.

This Chakra relates to survival and familial, cultural, genetic and patriotic connections.

Through the Root Chakra, you are connected to Mother Earth. When you spend time in nature, stand on the earth, consciously connect with the energy of the planet, or contemplate the truth that you belong in this world, you are strengthening the energy of this chakra.

When this Chakra is blocked, you may feel emotionally victimized, powerless, dependent or that your survival is threatened.

Physical manifestations of challenges in this area are conditions that affect the feet, knees, and hips, including arthritis, kidney stones, osteoporosis, bone problems, and autoimmune deficiency conditions (Wauters, Ambika).

Here’s an excerpt from one of my favorite Chakra books to help you heal and support your Root Chakra:

Each time we define ourselves by the self-limiting ideas that dictate where we can and cannot go, whom we can or cannot participate with, and what we are allowed to do and not do, we narrow our life choices. We define ourselves through race, religion, culture, age, gender, and sexual orientation. We heal our Root Chakra by making choices for ourselves based on the promise of growth and spiritual development.

Our Root Chakra, in order to be functional, must be rid of narrow beliefs. We heal the Root Chakra each time we affirm our right to the life we say we want. Knowing we have a right to joy, happiness, health, and a creative existence is fundamental to life. You need no one’s approval, nor do you need reasons to make the choices that promise you happiness, stability, and joy. Stepping away from the prescribed dictates of family, culture, or religion may be painful at first, but eventually, your roots become defined by the way you live, love, and communicate, and the choices you make for your life.”

—Wauters, Ambika The Complete Guide to Chakras

Here are 3 of my favorite Root Chakra connecting affirmations from Ambika (her book has several more):

• I know who I am and make choices based on what I know to be right for me.
• I affirm my right to the life I choose.
• I am supported in life through all my choices to do good and share the light of love.

Take a moment right now to rest your feet on the earth. Feel the life energy of the planet. Open yourself to receiving all of the strength, power, and stability you need. Go hug a tree. Seriously. Draw from its wisdom, endurance, and deeply rooted ability to reach into the earth for the power to stretch toward the heavens.

If you’re feeling that this Chakra needs attention, Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System, by Anodea Judith, will help.

The Chakra System

In case you don’t know much about Chakras, here’s an easy reference to help you get your bearings:

Chakras are centers in bodies through which energy flows.

1. Root Chakra – Base of spine

2. Sacral Chakra – Lower abdomen, two inches below the navel and two inches in.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Upper abdomen near the stomach.

4. Heart Chakra – Center of chest just above the heart.

5. Throat Chakra – Throat.

6. Brow Chakra – Forehead between the eyes (Third Eye).

7. Crown Chakra – Top of the head.

If you’re ready to create magic in your own life, get on my email list. CLICK HERE. I share more personally and in greater detail there.


Free Video Series

-how feeling worthless is learned
-your level of self-worth
-how to grow self-esteem

-how to open up to higher forces

-practices to create the best days of your life


This series is part of a paid program. The event creators were gracious to allow me to share it with my community.

Thank you!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This